Former NJ Teacher Charged With Sexual Assault
February 23, 2021
An elementary teacher in Long Branch, NJ is being charged with sexual assaulting of one of his 10-year old students. The defendant has been charged with aggravated sexual assault and endangering the welfare of a child.
There are reports that the sexual assault occurred more than once. While the teacher was no longer teaching at the time of the arrest, he was a fourth-grade teacher at the school until recently. He began his teaching career in 2007 until 2018 when he was suspended with pay. They do not yet have details as to whether he was a teacher at the time, or why he was suspended from teaching. Continue reading to learn more about the consequences associated with being a NJ teacher charged with sexual assault.
Potential Consequences of Aggravated Sexual Assault in New Jersey
In New Jersey, aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree crime. This means that the standard consequences include:
- Between 10-20 years in prison
- A $200,000 legal fine
- Required registration with Megan’s Law
- Required parole supervision
New Jersey also has the No Early Release Act (NERA), which applies to aggravated sexual assault cases. This means that if convicted, you must serve a minimum of 85% of the sentence before being eligible for release.
Read more: NJ Counselor Loses License For Having Sex With Student
Aggravated Sexual Assault Consequences When a Victim is Under 13 Years Old
In this case, however, the offender may receive an even harsher sentence because the victim is under the age of 13. Due to the Lunsford Act, the defendant will be required to serve 25 years to life in prison. A plea deal with a minimum of 15 years is sometimes allowed. There is also no statute of limitation when it comes to aggravated sexual assault.
What is Aggravated Sexual Assault?
Aggravated sexual assault occurs when someone is guilty of sexual assault with a victim who is 13 years or younger. Whereas sexual assault is a second-degree crime, aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree crime. Aggravated sexual assault could also include sexual assault charges that occur when another crime is also being committed, such as the use of weapons, or when sexual assault includes physical force or injury.
Read more: Answers To The Top 5 Common Questions About The Criminal Justice System
Dealing With Aggravated Sexual Assault Charges
If you’re a NJ teacher charged with sexual assault, it is imperative that you discuss your case with a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. The earlier that you consult with a lawyer, the better. Aggravated sexual assault charges have the harshest consequences and could lead to required prison time. Even when you are released from jail, you will likely be monitored for life.
Read more: How Can A Criminal Defense Lawyer Help Me?
Contact an Experienced Union County Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey
Were you arrested or charged with sexual assault in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The criminal defense attorneys at Zegas Law have successfully represented clients charged with sexual assault in Hackensack, Orange, Newark, Bridgewater and throughout New Jersey. Call (973) 379-1999 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 60 Morris Turnpike, Summit, NJ 07901.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.
Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.