Tier 1 of Megan’s Law Involves Sexual Crimes Involving Minors
March 18, 2021
If you live in New Jersey, you might have heard about Megan’s Law. Megan’s Law is a law that requires local police authorities to inform communities of convicted sex offenders in their local area. Tier 1 of Megan’s Law includes any offense that involves a minor, among other factors. Continue reading to learn more.
Understanding Tier 1 of Megan’s Law
Megan’s Law is divided into different tiers, which determines the rules the offender must follow based on their offense. Tier one includes:
- Any offense that is not categorized in Tier 2 or Tier 3
- Any offense involving a minor
- Any offense that involves false imprisonment of a minor
- Any offense that involves possession or receipt of child pornography
Tier one offenders are required to register their location annually. This includes the location of anywhere they reside, work, or go to school. Tier one offenders are required to be registered with Megan’s Law for at least 15 years.
Tier one is considered low risk. This means that when someone registers, the local law enforcement agencies are notified. However, this is in comparison to other tiers, which will notify nearby schools, daycares, summer camps, and other community organizations.
Other Requirements of Megan’s Law
Offenders, including all tiers, are not only required to check-in annually, or sooner, for tier two and three, but they are also subject to other requirements. If an offender who is registered with Megan’s Law moves or changes employment, they are required to update their information. They have up to 10 days to notify their local police department. Local police authorities will record and confirm this information with you.
The information is recorded to the Division of State Police in a Sex Offender Registry. The information is available to the public of that local neighborhood.
Types of Crimes Included in Megan’s Law
Megan’s Law covers the following crimes:
- Sexual assault
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Criminal sexual assault
- Endangering the welfare of a child
Offenses involving criminal restraint and kidnapping can also be included in Megan’s Law.
Navigating Megan’s Law as a Juvenile Offender
Some juvenile offenders may be required to register with Megan’s Law. However, the length of registration requirements may vary, depending on the details of the offense. Juvenile offenders should work with a criminal defense lawyer who is familiar with representing juveniles in criminal sexual charges.
Dealing With Criminal Sexual Conduct Charges?
Being convicted of sexual charges can lead to severe consequences in the state of New Jersey. In addition to potential jail time and expensive fines, you may also be required to register with Megan’s Law. Most offenders are not eligible to be removed from Megan’s Law until they have completed their minimum sentencing. Some crimes prevent someone from being removed ever.
Not only can this affect your ability to hold or find new employment, but it can also make you stand out in your local area community in a negative way. Your public information can be available to the whole community online. It is important to discuss your case with a lawyer to better understand your options.
Contact an Experienced Summit Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Sexual Assault Charges in Summit
Were you arrested or charged with sexual assault in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at Zegas Law have successfully represented clients charged with sexual assault in Summit, Essex County, Union County, Morris County, and throughout New Jersey. Call (973) 379-1999 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 60 Morris Turnpike, Summit, NJ 07901.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.
Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.