Maplewood, New Jersey, was recently in the news following a homicide. The crime took place at The Top Condominiums on South Orange Avenue on January 4, 2021, mid-day. The victim was a woman who is believed to be a resident. On the day of the crime, no initial arrests were made. Initial suspects reported that the offender has fled following the murder. Police investigated the area the day of the crime, staying on site until the early evening hours.
The story was then updated to notify the readers that an arrest was made one day later, on Jan. 5, 2021. A 35-year-old male was arrested as a potential suspect, where he will be charged with murder. The person is related to the victim, suspecting that he shot his mother and then fled the scene the day before.
Murder Charges in New Jersey
People who are convicted of murder charges in New Jersey are subject to up to 30-years in jail or in some cases, life in prison. Homicide is referred to as the action of killing someone. Homicide can be intentional or accidental. It is often the word used before details are known. The state uses the following types of murder:
- Death by auto
Murder can also be divided further into first or second-degree murder charges. The differences are what actions led to the murder, as well as the expected charges.
- First-degree murder: First-degree charges require that the defendant plan the murder.
- Second-degree: Second-degree occurs when the defendant is intentional or reckless.
The biggest difference between the two is whether the homicide was premeditated or deliberately done. Details including whether the murder was purposeful, whether the offender knew what they were doing, or whether the murder occurred while committing other crimes can make a difference in charges.
Potential Charges for Homicide in New Jersey
Homicide and murder of any type carry with it heavy fines in the state of New Jersey. Murder of the first-degree is a mandatory 30 year-life in prison. Some people may also receive even heavier charges, like life in prison without the chance of parole.
Even second-degree murder has heavy fines in the state. Charges are usually somewhere around 15 years-life in prison. The specific charges depend on the details of the incident, as well as if the offender has previous criminal charges.
There are a few defenses that may reduce the expected sentencing of murder charges. For example, if the person committed the illegal act out of self-defense, they may be able to avoid jail time. Additionally, if the person is found guilty of murder, but it was not intentional, such as with a DUI, they may have legal options available.
Reach Out to a Criminal Defense Lawyer Today
Murder charges rightfully carry heavy sentencing in the state of New Jersey. If you are dealing with potential murder charges, it is important to consider your options. Navigating homicide cases can be overwhelming and fearful. You need a team of experienced lawyers on your side to navigate the legal system.
Contact an Experienced Union County Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Homicide Charges in New Jersey
Were you arrested or charged with homicide in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at Zegas Law have successfully represented clients in Essex County, Union County, Middlesex County, Bergen County, and throughout New Jersey. Call (973) 379-1999 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 60 Morris Turnpike, Summit, NJ 07901.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.
Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.