There’s been a lot of controversy surrounding drug laws over the past several years. New Jersey state has made major changes to its stance on marijuana, yet the federal government hasn’t budged on theirs.
With that in mind, you can still get arrested and charged for possessing marijuana in New Jersey. You can also get hit with drug distribution charges if you’re caught carrying a significant amount of any controlled substance. Learn everything you need to know about New Jersey’s drug distribution laws below.
New Jersey Drug Distribution Charges
An officer who catches you with any type of controlled substance can charge you with possession. If you have a significant amount, then they could charge you with distribution. An officer is more likely to charge you with distribution if they catch you with large amounts of a substance, multiple containers or a lot of cash on you.
The type of drug you have plays a major role in how serious your charges are. If you have more than five ounces of heroin or cocaine, then you’ll be charged with a significant first-degree crime. The same charge will be levied against you if you have over 100 mg of LSD, five ounces or more of methamphetamine or over 25 pounds of marijuana. A conviction can result in fines of up to $500,000 and a prison sentence of up to 20 years.
Second-degree crimes can lead to ten-year prison sentences and fines of up to $15,000. You could get hit with this kind of charge if you’re found with half an ounce to five ounces of heroin or cocaine, less than 100 mg of LSD, half an ounce to five ounces of meth or between five and 25 pounds of marijuana.
Third-degree crimes can still land you in jail for three to five years. You could get charged with this if you have between five grams and one pound of marijuana or less than half an ounce of heroin or cocaine.
Related blog: Possession Charges In NJ: A Complete Guide
How Can I Defend Myself from Distribution Charges?
If you were charged with a distribution-related crime, then it’s advised you reach out to an attorney right away. The penalties are steep, and your options for defending yourself may be limited depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest.
Contact an Experienced Summit Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Drug Distribution Charges in Summit
Were you arrested or charged with drug distribution in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at Zegas Law have successfully represented clients charged with drug distribution in Essex County, Union County, Morris County, Middlesex County, Bergen County, Somerset County, and throughout New Jersey. Call (973) 833-4724 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 60 Morris Turnpike #3, Summit, New Jersey.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.